My wife is off to DC with her best friend...and I'm drunk

Steelplate

WooHoo.

There's part of me that is incredibly grateful for this time alone. But, there is another part of me that misses my wife of 13 years.

I don't know how many people know this...but I am a semi-professional musician. I mostly do acoustic Blues/Folk/Rock... with a friend of mine. We are a duo...obviously.... but we used to be a trio....we had a Blues harp player(harmonica). The Harp player's wife came down with a debilitating ailment...that left him unable to play with us anymore.

The reason I am bringing this all up is that I have been inspired.

You see, my wife and I have been working real hard on our home. We live in a three bedroom ranch house that her Uncle and Father built from scratch. My wife's Mom and Dad still live next door to us in the house that THEY built...in inverse proportions. From what I understand...it was very much of a "you scratch my back, I'll scratch your's" situation...

Anyway....Somewhere along the line.....Polly's(my wife) Uncle sold the house to his son. And...I hate to say it...because....I love my wife so much....but, his son....and HIS wife.... took out all of the original....SOLID OAK...doors, molding and baseboard....and replaced it with plastic Pseudo- wood from Lowe's....or wherever they got it from.

Anyways... the house is full of cheap imitations of what it was ORIGINALLY supposed to be like. Polly and I have been hard at work trying to restore it as best we can. There are certain elements.that we cannot.....like for instance...our windows...,sliders were.just.more efficient than the old casement windows we.started.out with.

That's just one example....the bottom line is that we are trying to restore that "mid to late 50's" look as best we can. And the differences are mild, but significant.....like real, solid, hardwood molding and baseboard and doors....instead of plastic, hollow, and insignificant trim and interior doors.