Florida Law Question

cawacko

I vowed to not start a thread on the Zimmerman-Martin trial but in reading an article this Florida law caught my attention.

""Because of the way Florida law imposes longer sentences for crimes committed with a gun, manslaughter could end up carrying a penalty as heavy as the one for second-degree murder: life in prison.""

For you lawyers here (or those in the know) any idea how many states can give life in prison for manslaughter charges? For you Florida residents have you heard of any getting life for a manslaughter charge? I'm not a lawyer and had never heard of a manslaughter conviction being for life hence the question.

(FWIW, I'm not trying to argue about the case I'm just curious about this law and I also apologize if this has already been discussed)

http://www.sfgate.com/news/us/article/Jury-in-Zimmerman-trial-may-consider-lesser-charge-4660165.php

Sorry, I need to explain. First offense with a gun is ten years, second twenth and so on.

Our prisons are full. :)

"10 - 20 - Life" is a little different than as described above. Its Florida Statute 775.087 I believe, I had one such case about 12 years ago....

Its basically a mandatory sentencing scheme whereby if you brandish a firearm during the commission of a forcible felony the judge is required to sentence you to a minimum of 10 years. If you fire that gun, the minimum is 20 and if you shoot someone the minimum is 25 with a permissible range of up to life.

So, unless there is an exception I have not thought of, GZ would be facing a minimum of 25 years if convicted.

"10 - 20 - Life" is a little different than as described above. Its Florida Statute 775.087 I believe, I had one such case about 12 years ago....