Thread: I think I might have a legal issue with my company

1. #1 | Top
    Thanks
    Thanked 9,041 Times in 6,685 Posts
    Groans
    Groaned 543 Times in 519 Posts
    Blog Entries

Default I think I might have a legal issue with my company

So, I was hired on the 9th at one of the largest, if not the largest dealership in San Antonio. Before we can even have access to our CRM (customer relationship management system) we have to complete about 50 hours of training.

Today I asked my boss when I was getting paid. He told me that since I had previous car sales experience, I don't get any compensation other than commission.

Well... in order to earn commission I need to at least have access to our systems, have business cards, access to the vehicle keys, etc. I have none of that.

So, I can't earn if I can't access our systems and I can't get that access until my training is complete.

I used to be a hiring manager. One thing my HR department hammered into all of us is that we need to make sure that all employees get paid for the hours they work.

So, I don't think it's legal for the company not to pay me for the hours or training.

My plan is to contact the TX DOL on Monday and see if TX state law allows the arrangement my company is operating under.

I don't want to get into a battle as a new hire, but I also don't think it's fair to be forced to work and train for free.
    ================================================== =

There will come a day where Donald Trump is gone, but the dishonor of those who carried his water will remain.

2. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to LurchAddams For This Post:

evince (01-22-2023), Guno צְבִי (01-21-2023), Life is Golden (01-21-2023), Phantasmal (01-22-2023), ThatOwlWoman (01-22-2023)

3. #2 | Top
    Thanks
    Thanked 21,034 Times in 14,529 Posts
    Groans
    Groaned 1,387 Times in 1,305 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by LurchAddams View Post